Class of 2018 History Students Win Awards

Four graduating seniors successfully completed the rigorous requirements for departmental Honors in History. In order to qualify for Honors in History, a student must maintain a 3.5 or better GPA in History, complete an Honors tutorial and thesis or a Mannion Society thesis, and successfully complete a 5000-level graduate course in History. The five students who met these requirements this year were: Agata Sobczak ( Mannion Society 2017), Elizabeth Doty (Mannion Society, 2018), Nicholas Guthammar (Mannion Society, 2017), Giulio Ricciardi (Mannion Society, 2017), and Justin Tramonti (Mannion Society, 2017).

Elizabeth Doty

Justin Tramonti


Giulio Ricciardi

Agata Sobczak


Two other graduating seniors were recognized for their scholarship. Michele Briney was awarded the Nathan and Jennie Itzkoff Memorial Endowed Scholarship. Brynna Harum was awarded the Mooney Prize at Encaenia on May 17. The Mooney Prize is named in honor of Edward Cardinal Mooney, the late archbishop of Detroit and given to the student who has shown excellence in the study of history.


Congratulations to these fine scholars in the Class of 2018!


Comments Off on Class of 2018 History Students Win Awards

Filed under Student Awards, Undergrad News

Comments are closed.